# Meeting Minutes – Faculty Council

# **Meeting Information**

Date: May 5, 2021 Location: zoom

Time: 8:00 a.m. – 9:00 a.m. Chair: Charlene Gross
Note Taker: Jennifer Curry Morgan Approved by: Gwendolyn Walker

Attendees: Jennifer Curry Morgan, Gwendolyn Walker, Sebastian Trainor, Sarah Watts, Dean

Carpenter, Alec Spangler, Heather McCune Bruhn, Charlene Gross, Bryan Nichols, Emily Burns, Marcus Shaffer, Kris Danford, Angela Rothrock, Lauren Sosa, & Carlos Rosas

Absent: Gaurav Ganguli, Ted Christopher, Wanda Knight, & Bonj Szczygiel

\_\_\_\_\_\_

## **Agenda Items:**

### April's meeting minutes approved

## **At-Large Election Results**

Tonya Mitchell-Spradlin & Angela Rothrock are Standing representatives.

Benjamin Andrew is the Alternate

Ted Christopher will be on Sabbatical 2021, so Benjamin Andrew will be filling in Ted's absence.

Lauren Sosa is fixed-term representative.

Eric Roman is the Alternate.

#### Orientation

Round of introductions were made and words of wisdom from outgoing representatives were exchanged.

#### Constitution email to faculty

One last thing in the Constitution to approve. Need 2/3 vote to pass. Keith Shapiro suggested that not responding means a "yes" vote. Ex-chair will be added as ex-officio.

Charlene is working on updating the Committees/Councils list so the language reflects that of the Constitution.

## **Town Hall**

The subject was Academic Freedom and Stephen Dunham from legal counsel spoke. Shared the link that is posted on our intranet with FC.

\*

#### **Next meeting:**

September 1, 2021 8-9 a.m.